Built 2015. Jacobs Hall, hub of the interdisciplinary Jacobs Institute for Design Innovation, contains 24,000 square feet of design studios and maker labs with access to the latest equipment for rapid prototyping and fabrication.
Built 1917. Designed by John Galen Howard, this was one of the first campus buildings to acknowledge the city of Berkeley (by attempting to face both inward and outward at the same time). It was named for Eugene Hilgard, an agriculture professor who founded the University Agricultural Experimental Station. Added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.
Built 1983. Named in honor of former alumnus Isias Warren Hellman III, the Hellman Tennis Center is home to Cal's tennis teams. The center was built in 1983 and features five courts used for practice and home dual match competitions.
Built 2004. Home of the No. 1 academic library in the United States, this high-tech building in the "arts quadrangle" houses 190,000 volumes of printed music, books, and periodicals; more than 50,000 recordings; manuscripts; and other rare materials.
Located on Centennial Drive east of Memorial Stadium, the Strawberry Canyon Recreation Area offers the spectacular Club House. The Club House is nestled in the Berkeley Hills, surrounded by greenery and placed away from the city in a very tranquil setting. Along two sides of the room, floor to ceiling windows overlook a wooden deck and nearby trees.
Built 1954. Chemist William F. Giauque won the Nobel Prize in 1949 for low-temperature research. Labs in the largely underground building conduct research into properties of matter at supercold temperatures.
Accessible entrances: The main entrance is located in the Hilderbrand Breezeway. The lab can also additionally be accessed by taking either the Latimer or Hilderbrand elevators to the basement and using a connecting tunnel.